The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Sweet & Spicy Fried Chicken. October 24, 2014

Filed under: Chicken,Dinner,Uncategorized — Jessica @ 5:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

This is not the kind of recipe you will see here often, but everyone needs some fried chicken every now and then. If it was up to my love, we would have fried foods a couple of times a week but I try to limit it to once a month or so. Not because I don’t LOVE them, because I certainly do, but because they just aren’t good for you.

This recipe is my take on fried chicken. Since I have a hard time leaving good enough alone, I figured I would take the flavors up a notch by marinating my chicken before frying. I use a combination of honey and hot sauce to give the chicken a nice sweet and spicy flavor under the crispy crunchy deliciousness. After the chicken is fried, I drizzle it with more honey to really showcase all of the flavors.

DSC01684

 

Sweet & Spicy Fried Chicken

serves 4

8 chicken drumsticks (or thighs)- bone in and with the skin still on

1/2 cup honey

1/2 cup hot sauce

1.5 cups all purpose flour (I used gluten free)

sea salt & freshly ground black pepper

canola oil (about 6-8 cups depending on size of pan)

Additional honey and hot sauce for serving if desired

 

DSC01683

1. Combine honey and hot sauce in a gallon freezer bag. Mix together by sealing and then kneading bag. Add chicken. Marinate at least 6 hrs or overnight (recommended)

2. Start the cooking process by heating the oil in deep skillet (we have a special “chicken fryer” pan). I like the oil to be about an inch and a half deep. Heat oil to 350°. It is very important that you get the oil at the right temperature. If it is not hot enough, the flour will soak up the oil before it fries and it won’t get crispy. If the oil is too hot, the flour crisps up almost instantly but the chicken will not be cooked and the outside will be burned before the chicken is cooked. Your best bet is to use a food thermometer. I don’t do that. I usually just let it heat until I can feel the heat coming off from oil when I hold my hand a few inches above it. This does not always work out.

3. While oil is heating, place flour, salt and pepper in a clean gallon freezer bag and combine.

4. Remove chicken from marinade and allow excess marinade to drip off. Place chicken in bag with flour. Discard remaining marinade. Seal bag and shake to coat chicken.

5. Remove chicken once piece at time, shake off excess flour and place in hot oil. Be sure not to crowd the chicken. Cook in two batches if needed. The oil needs to be able to move around and crisp up the chicken. I cook about 10-12 minutes and then flip the chicken over and cook an additional 10-12 minutes.

6. Remove from oil and drain on paper towels (or coffee filters).

7. Drizzle with honey and more hot sauce if desired when served.

8. Enjoy!

 

DSC01689

 

 

7 Responses to “Sweet & Spicy Fried Chicken.”

  1. OMG, this looks amazing. Somehow I’ve never actually made fried chicken (but I will now!). My husband will love this 🙂 Thanks ❤

  2. Erin Says:

    This looks awesome! We love making fried chicken, so we’d love to spice it up 🙂

  3. Caroline Says:

    This looks so good, I would have that for supper tonight!

  4. I’m terrible at making fried chicken, but I really want to try this recipe! It sounds SO GOOD! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Angie B. Says:

    Love fried chicken. I know it’s not good for me but sooo tasty. Never tried a sweet and sour one before


Leave a comment