The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Butternut Sqaush & Red Onion Gratin with Fresh Thyme. November 13, 2014

Filed under: Side Dish,Vegetables — Jessica @ 6:00 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Normally, I take a sweeter approach with squash and mash it up with some brown sugar and butter, but this may very well have changed my thinking on that. I actually made something that involved a few of the key ingredients in this for book club a couple of years ago, but kind of forgot about it until this started happening. This was created on a random Monday night, but it would be the perfect addition to your Thanksgiving table. It is buttery, cheesy, delicious comfort food at it’s finest.

DSC01800

Butternut Squash & Red Onion Gratin w/Fresh Thyme

1 butternut squash- seeded, peeled & very thinly sliced

2 Tbls fresh thyme

2 Tbls olive oil

1/2 medium red onion- thinly sliced

4 oz extra sharp cheddar cheese (divided)

1/2 cup panko (I used gluten free)

2 Tbls butter- melted

salt & pepper

DSC01790

1. Preheat oven to 375º. Prepare squash. I cut mine in half the long way, scoop out the seeds, cut off the bulb part and peel it before slicing it very thin. Prepare 8×8 pan by coating with thin layer of olive oil.

2. Toss squash, red onion, thyme, olive oil, salt & pepper to coat. Add in half of cheese and toss to distribute. Dump into oiled pan.

3.Mix remaining cheese, panko, salt and pepper in small bowl. Spread over the top of squash.

4. Drizzle with melted butter.

5. Cover with foil and bake at 375º for 45 minutes. Remove foil after 25 minutes so the top can brown.

6. Remove from oven and let cool slightly.

7. Enjoy!

DSC01803

 

10 Responses to “Butternut Sqaush & Red Onion Gratin with Fresh Thyme.”

  1. Brittany Says:

    This looks like it tastes delicious! I have such a hard time dealing with butternut squash. It’s built Ford tough!

    • Jessica Says:

      I hated dealing with it for years but had to get over it because I love it so much lol… I often poke some holes in it and roast it whole and then just cut it in half, remove the seeds and scrape out the insides. A good kitchen knife really helps too!

  2. Christine Says:

    I would def give this a try if someone else made it but probably wouldn’t make it myself for fear I wouldn’t like the squash

  3. Angie B. Says:

    Oh yum I wouldn’t mind trying this. Honestly My kids used to love squash as babies. I’d make homemade squash baby food for them

  4. Heather Says:

    I love butternut squash, but I’m allergic to onions…I wonder what I could substitute though because this sounds DELCIOUS! 🙂

  5. My husband is going to love this one. Thank you

  6. Erica Muray Says:

    Butternut Squash & Red Onion Gratin With Fresh Thyme looks amazing. I think it’s lunch time here!! I am usually a sweet kinda gal, I may have to cook out of the bubble.


Leave a comment