The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

10 Minute Gourmet November 14, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 9:56 pm
Tags: , , ,

As much as I love cooking, sometimes I just need something quick and delicious with minimal effort. Grilled sandwiches fit that bill perfectly. Traditional white bread & american cheese sandwiches will always hold a special place in my heart, but I tend to get a little fancier these days. Last night was a grilled sandwich night.

I had scored some day old loaves of “everything italian” bread for $1. Before putting them in the freezer for another day, I cut a few slices for my dinner. I layered on some brie, marinated artichoke hearts & roasted red pepper.  And here is the secret to restaurant style grilled sandwiches… put the butter right in the pan & fry your sandwich in it instead of buttering the bread. I usually refrain from this not so healthy cooking method but since I had no soft butter, I went for it. Oh my delicious….

image

Sorry for the sucky photo.

There are endless possibilities for grilled sandwich fillings. I tend to just rummage through the fridge and see what I find. One of my favorite combinations (inspired by a restaurant in Ellicotville NY) is sliced turkey breast, thin sliced red onion, basil pesto, roasted red peppers & brie on some good nutty whole grain bread.

What is your favorite “10 min gourmet” meal?

 

Leave a Reply

