The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Post Thanksgiving Traditions. November 25, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 10:22 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

While many people gear up for Black Friday Shopping the day after Thanksgiving,  my own traditions certainly do not involve going to any stores the day after the feast. Don’t let me fool you-  I love shopping.  It took me a while to learn that I can still fully indulge my love of clothes and pretty things without supporting a corporation I do not believe in or adding to the waste in our world. I buy 2nd hand almost exclusively the last several years and you can find great deal any day that way.  An occasional trip to the mall happens, especially when in need of a specific item or undergarments but that’s about it.

So, what do I do? I have friends over, I make brunch, I clean the house really well. I listen to Christmas music and decorate the house. I spend several hours gathering and then narrowing down recipes to come up with a holiday baking lists. I venture out to do some shopping & errands (on Saturday). I finish up my Christmas cards and make a list of things I will need to buy this holiday season. I tend to spend at least one whole day out of the weekend on my couch in my sweatpants, watching some of my favorite movies. I go out with friends who are in town for the weekend. I play games with my family. I read magazines. Basically, I just take time to relax and restore my inner reserves before the crazy rush of holiday parties and events start. I am always refreshed and ready for the upcoming fun after this weekend, which is more than I can say for people waiting in line at 3am on Friday morning for something they most likely do not even really need.

Next year, I decided I am going to host an Anti Black Friday party. Everyone can bring canned goods and used clothing to donate to people who may actually need more things. (People can also bring snacks and wine to share 😉 ) We can play games and just hang out and enjoy the people in our lives instead of the things. I am really looking forward to making this a new tradition.
Oh, I also dress my dog up in a Santa costume:

 

Leave a Reply

