The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Celebrate. January 13, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 10:03 pm

image

Birthday weekend was lovely. Friday, I received an awesome gift from an awesome partner….

image

My new toy & I spent the whole day (12hrs) at my best friend’s house. There was lots of inspiring conversation & ridiculous laughter.

   Saturday started off a little rough (due mostly to 2 consecutive nights of not sleeping well) but ended pretty awesome. My pre birthday Saturday wish list included- good coffee, time with loved ones, shopping for a new french press, some time at the library, cleaning the house, grocery shopping at Wegman’s & chocolate cake. Every last thing was accomplished 🙂 My afternoon was spent with my mama, grandma, aunt, sisters, niece & nephews. Grandma brought me flowers, wine & other goodies.

image

Picking up an espresso drink while doing my grocery shopping helped energize the rest of my day. I wanted a coffee drink but did not want an insane amount of extra calories so I chose a skim milk caramel latte with a double shot of espresso & no whip cream. (Small healthy decisions add up the same way small unhealthy decisions do).
A trip to the library to pick up a hold & stock up on documentaries wrapped up the errands part of the day.

The honey & I got cleaned up & went on an unsuccessful hunt for a new french press. I did pick up some fun stuff including a new (desperately needed) lunch bag & this happy little mug

image

We went to a local restaurant for dinner & it was surprisingly easy for me to choose a healthy meal (off a pretty unhealthy menu). I chose a small steak, brocolli & mixed vegetables. I finished about half of each & a glass of white wine.

image

The food was good but the service was terrible. Our waitress did redeem herself a bit by offering free desert. I chose peanut butter pie to go.

   After dinner, we picked up my best friend & she came over to help me clean and get ready for my birthday gathering. We then stayed up till 3am drinking coffee & watching documentaries. 

   Today, I was showered with lots of visitors, calls, birthday wishes, gifts & most importantly, Love. My morning was spent in the kitchen chopping veggies for pumpkin black bean soup & baking brownies for my lunch & lounge party. Time in the kitchen is one of my favorite things ❤

image

This is one of my favorite soups & I was really excited to eat it until my sister showed up with this-

image

Yum! So, I ate a lot of sushi & I have some leftover soup for tomorrow.

   Some good friends came over. We lunched. We lounged. We ate chocolate cake. It was exactly how I wanted to spend my birthday. I even indulged in a birthday nap when they left 🙂

image

   I did not count my points this weekend, but I did make a lot of good decisions in regards to healthy eating. I am happy with myself & look forward to being back on plan tomorrow.

Thirty three is going to be a very good year, I can feel it in my bones. This will be a year of inspiration, growth, community & continued blessings & love. I just feel so damn lucky to have the life I do.
Thank you all for being a part of it.

image

Tomorrow- 33 While 33 List 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

