The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

My Love Affair with Oatmeal. January 19, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 11:30 am
Tags: ,

image

  Oatmeal gets a bad rap. I just don’t understand it because I LOVE the stuff. It is healthy, cheap and crazy versatile. It is a favorite breakfast in the cooler months. Viewing oatmeal more like pasta, as a base to be topped with other delicious things, may change the way you feel about oatmeal. It’s where my love affair began.

   My basic sweet oatmeal base is 1/3 cup old fashioned oats, 1/3 skim milk, 1/3 cup water, a dash of salt, cinnamon & pure vanilla extract. Just put it all in a pot over medium heat & stir often until it reaches the consistency you like. (I like mine pretty thick). Now, here’s where the fun begins… you can mix in or top this oatmeal base with whatever your heart desires.
-fresh, frozen or dried fruit
-nuts & nut butters
-butter
-maple syrup
-jam
-chocolate chips
-granola
-flaked coconut
-canned pumpkin
-brown sugar
– applesauce
-greek yogurt

The possibilities really are endless…  A mix of taste (salty, sweet) & texture is key.

  Occasionally I need a break from sweet breakfasts but still want oatmeal. In comes savory oats. I was skeptical at first myself but finally broke down & tried it. Oh my delicious. Savory oats start with the same base (minus the cinnamon & vanilla) and are cooked the same way. Once the oats are done I mix precooked veggie or turkey sausage crumble & a wedge of lauging cow cheese. This all gets topped with a dippy egg. You really should try it.

   During my weekly prep session I will often make a batch of oats in the crockpot for breakfast during the week. Just keep the proportion of oats to liquid 1:2 & make as much as you & your family will eat. Dried, canned or frozen fruit can be added right to the cooking oats.

  If you are counting calories/points, it is important to be mindful of the amount of toppings you are using. I assure you, it is possible to get a huge delicious bowl of oats with a variety of tastes & textures within a normal healthy calorie/point range.

image

 

Leave a Reply

