The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Protein Pancakes – A Healthy Sunday Brunch. January 27, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 7:00 am

  Let’s talk about brunch. Specifically, Sunday brunch. I LOVE it. The joys of a proper Sunday brunch were not celebrated in my childhood but something I discovered as an adult. Some people go to church on Sunday mornings & I have at times tried to be one of them but for me, all things sacred lie in the everyday. Sleeping in a bit, waking up to a clean quiet house, sipping that perfect cup of coffee, reading a favorite book, doing crossword puzzles, snuggling with the honey, laughing at my dogs and taking the time to prepare a meal to nourish us mind, body, soul…. I really can’t think of  many things that make me feel more in tune with a higher power than these.

   Sunday brunch isn’t always healthy and I don’t necessarily think it needs to be. My weekly “splurge” meal often takes place late Sunday morning but for weekends that start out with cocktails & spinach dip, it is nice to have a healthy brunch recipe or two tucked away somewhere.

   These pancakes fit the bill. This is a recipe slightly adapted from The Biggest Loser (original recipe is widely available online). I was a bit skeptical of the ingredient list at first but had everything in the house (& usually do), so I decided to try it. While the pancakes aren’t as fluffy as traditional ones, they definitely taste like “real” pancakes. Paired with some turkey sausage and served with maple syrup on the side for dipping they make a great healthy brunch.

Protein Pancakes
2 servings (3 medium pancakes each)

6 egg whites
1 cup rolled oats
1 cup low fat cottage cheese
2 tsp brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup fresh or frozen berries

1. Add first 7 ingredients to blender. Process until you have a smooth batter.
2. Fold in berries
3. Spray griddle or pan with nonstick cooking spray. Pour batter onto hot griddle and cook until golden brown (about 3 minutes on  my griddle). Flip & cook other side.
4. Enjoy!

image

What is on your favorite brunch menu?

 

Leave a Reply

