The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Keeping a Healthy Pantry. February 10, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 11:43 pm
Tags: , ,

  As I am sure you have gathered by now, I believe in being prepared. Meals for the week are planned, outfits for the week are laid out, workouts are scheduled, social  and work obligations written in my planner. I always have a pretty good idea of exactly what the next 5 days will look like before I get in bed on Sunday night. Being prepared is especially important when it comes to meeting healthy living goals.

   In an effort to spend less money at the grocery store, we stopped going so often. We now do one big grocery shop a month and then run to the produce store down the street when we we are out of the fresh stuff or stop at the small store nearby to keep fresh milk and greek yogurt in the house. Besides that, everything else is bought in the big trip once a month. ( I am planning more in depth post(s) about meal/ grocery planning and shopping once a month). There is plenty of meal inspiration when the fridge and cupboards are bulging right after a grocery trip but a couple weeks in, I need to start getting creative. This is where a well stocked pantry (and freezer) come in to play. A few years ago, I looked at many pantry stocking lists and over the years I have created my own based on my cooking style and tastes. Everyone will have a different idea of what they want in their pantry but this list is pretty extensive and will give you some good ideas. We have a deep freezer and some food storage shelves in our basement as well as our normal kitchen cupboards and freezer. There is some produce that lasts for awhile so I include that on my pantry list as well. I don’t always have all of this on hand, but I usually have most of it and I try to keep a running list of things that need to be replaced on our next grocery trip. This also greatly reduces our bill for meat because we can buy large amounts at once and  and just break them up and freeze them.

Pantry List

Baking Powder

Baking Soda

Brown Sugar

Vinegar-Cider, Red Wine, Balsamic and Regular

Cocoa Powder

Tea

Condiments- ketchup, bbq sauce, mayonaise, soy sauce, pickles, relish

Cornstarch

Dried Herbs

Flour- whole wheat, white etc

Sugar

Favorite Spices

Peanut Butter, Amond butter, Jam

tuna, salmon

flax seeds

oat bran

canned pumpkin

Maple Syrup

Pasta

powdered sugar

Rice, Barley, Quinoa,etc (favorite grains)

Salt/Pepper

Canned tomatoes- I have home canned one this year but usually keep a variety of canned ones on hand

Vanilla Extract

Oils- olive, sesame, peanut, canola

Canned corn, mushrooms, green chiles

Salsa

cornmeal

taco seasoning

beans- variety of dried and canned

enchilada sauce

crackers

olives

cereal- cold, oatmeal, steel cut oats

broth

coffee

nuts- walnuts, almonds

 

Freezer

 

Frozen fruit and veggies- I prefer fresh but it is good to have some on hand for when we run out and haven’t made it out for more. ( I am extra lucky to have a lot from my own garden frozen this year)

Meat- fish, chicken, ground beef, steaks, tilapia, salmon, shrimp, italian sausage, bacon

Veggie Burgers

Bread

Frozen hashbrowns

 

Produce

garlic

onions

potatoes- red are my favorite

carrots

 

             Image

   Keeping a well stocked pantry makes it easier to come up with creative, delicious and healthy meals at the last minute. I like food too much to resort to eating pasta and canned sauce for the last week or so before our grocery trip…. and luckily I never have to with these things on hand.

 

  What do you always keep in the house?

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Keeping a Healthy Pantry.”

  1. […] Once I have recipes, I make my list- First I add anything I need to restock my pantry. Next, I add regular items I buy each month (favorite produce, Greek yogurt, cheese sticks etc) […]


Leave a Reply

