The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Easy Crock Pot Chilli. (3pts+ per cup) February 12, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 6:00 am

Chilli was not my favorite growing up but I had to learn to like it when I was vegetarian, poor and feeding a lot of people all the time (college memories ;). There was never an actual recipe involved, I just threw some beans, vegggies, tomatoes and seasonings in a pot and let it simmer as long as I could. Despite growing to like chilli, it still wasn’t anything I made more than once a year. Well I made it for my partner once and she was seriously impressed and ate nearly the whole crock pot full herself. I tried my best to remember what I put in it that time so I could recreate it again, and according to her, I got it! So I wrote the ingredients down and this is the recipe I now follow. I make it several times throughout the fall and winter months now. There is meat in this recipe but you could easily leave it out (and I would if it was just me). This is super low in WW points- I figured it out to be 5 for a two cup serving but two cups was way too much so I went with 3pts+ for a one cup serving. Topping with reduced fat cheese, greek yogurt, tortilla chips or avacadoe will add some points but you certainly have room for the extras with such a low point yet filling meal.

wpid-IMG_20130205_174819.jpg

Easy Crockpot Chilli

.75lb 93% ground beef (browned)
2 28 oz cans whole tomatoes (I used home canned this year, but the big cans work just fine)
1 can black beans (drained)
1 can kidney beans (drained)
1 medium large red onion (diced)
5 cloves garlic (diced)
1/2 green pepper (diced)
1/2 red pepper (diced)
salt, pepper, cumin, chilli powder and red pepper flakes to taste (I usually start with a little and as more as it cooks)

Throw everything in the crockpot, stir it up and let it cook on low for 6-12 hrs. Stir and taste periodically and adjust seasonings as needed.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

