The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Meal Plan (& How My Meal Plan Usually Works) February 18, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 2:02 am

Good Morning Folks! Hope you had a great weekend and have some things to look forward to in the week ahead. Working for the school system, I get to have an extra day off. I love that. While supervising a class on Friday, I made a seriously massive to do list of every last thing I could think of needing to do in my life right now. It was 9 columns long! I have been working on that all weekend and will continue to do so tomorrow. There was some fun stuff on there too, so I am not too overwhelmed.

This Week’s Meal Plan~
Monday– Black Bean Burgers & Salt and Vinegar “Fries” (this didn’t happen last week)
Tuesday– Skillet Lasagna (meatless)
Wednesday– Leftovers
Thursday– Seasoned Roasted Chicken Thighs with Potatoes & Carrots
Friday– Chinese Food Date Night
Saturday– Appetizers/Wine at Event (Will have a small salad before going)
Sunday– Crockpot Chicken Ranch Tacos

So as I said before, I like to have a meal plan but I often deviate from the plan. Life happens. There are more leftovers than I anticipated. I get invited out to dinner. I am tired and want to eat Triscuits and Cottage cheese for dinner. I am stressed and want to eat cupcakes for dinner. You just never know what will happen. Last week was a perfect example of life happening.

Monday
Plan- Black Bean Burgers and Salt & Vinegar “fries”
What Actually Happened- I did not sleep well Sunday so I took a 4.5 hr nap when I got home from work Monday. When I woke up at 8:30 pm, I ate cottage cheese, triscuits and pudding.

Tuesday
Plan- Pulled Pork in Crockpot, Healthy Coleslaw
What Actually Happened- I did make the pulled pork but ate it with crackers and baby carrots instead of coleslaw

Wednesday
Plan-Chicken Piccata, Brocolli
What Actually Happened- I really have no idea, I think I ate leftover pulled pork.

Thursday
Plan- Pork Chops with Creamy Gravy, French Onion Roasted Potatoes, Green Beans
What Actually Happened- I ended up being at a friends thru dinner time. She ordered pizza subs for her family. I ate some. Followed by Valentine’s Day cupcakes at home.

Friday
Plan- Healthy Tuna Noodle Casserole
What Actually Happened- I made the Chicken Piccata and roasted brocolli from Wednesday night’s menu. It was delicious!

Saturday
Plan-Leftovers
What Actually Happened- Leftovers

Sunday
Plan- Crockpot Sausage and Pepper Sandwiches
What Actually Happened- Maple Dijon Glazed Pork Chops, Green Beans and French Onion Roasted Potatoes

Some weeks I actually do stick to the meal plan 100%, but most weeks are a little more like this (maybe not quite as extreme). The point being, I think having a plan is good, but there is no reason to feel limited by it or dissappointed when things do not go as planned. There are many different approaches to meal planning and while I prefer to assign meals to specific days based on my schedule etc, it is also quite effective to keep a running list of meals you can make from what you have on hand and just make whatever works best on that day. Find what works for you and be flexible!

flowers

My Valentine’s Day Flowers ❤

 

Leave a Reply

