The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

I Must Be Doing Something Right. (Weekly Weigh In) March 6, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 7:00 am
Tags: , ,

As I have shared, it has been a rough couple of weeks for me. I didn’t even weigh in last week because I just didn’t feel I could take more disappointment. There were more days that I felt out of control about my eating than days I felt in control. Although I am doing better the last few days, I was not expecting to see a loss on the scale when I went to my WW meeting this week. Honestly, I would have been thrilled just to have not gained. Imagine my surprise (and delight) to see that I was down 2.2lbs! Could I have done better? Certainly, but it is still a step in the direction I want to be going. It makes me proud to know that I am being more mindful of portions and food choices than I thought. Looking back, I can see where this is actually the case, that even when I feel out of control it is not as bad as it used to be.

This week’s 2.2lb loss brings me to a total of 14.4 lbs! That leaves me only 5.6 lbs short of meeting my current goal of  a 20 lb total loss by the end of March. I’m beyond confident I will reach my goal and may even exceed it!

Although I did not cone up with this idea (I found it on Pinterest), I love it and wanted to share.

image

These are just two cheap vases and some glass beads from the Dollar Tree. When I started trying to lose weight, I put one bead for each pound I was planning to lose in the vase on the right. After my meeting each week, I move a bead to the vase on the left for each whole pound I have lost (it currently has 14 beads because I have lost 14.4lbs). If I gain weight and it puts me under the total in the second vase, I move it (them) back to the first vase. These vases sit on my kitchen counter as a visual reminder of what I am working towards and what I have accomplished.

What visual cues work best for you?

 

Leave a Reply

