The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

No Spending Month. May 8, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 6:00 am

I’m a bit of a self improvement junky. This is not to say that I am not happy with my current self/life, just that I think there is always room to grow. Self evaluation is an ongoing past time of mine. I just want to be sure I am living my best possible life. Healthy living & weight loss are a part of that, but not my entire focus.

For the month of May, I have decided to focus on finances. I suck at money. I am great at paying bills and having what I need and many little things that I want, but I am not good at saving for bigger purchases or emergencies. We seem to live both beyond & below are means. Beyond in the sense that we are often living paycheck to paycheck & using our excess income to fulfill immediate desires and below in the sense that if we could just conserve funds for a few paychecks, we could afford some of the bigger things we actually need- like new furniture or travel. It is frustrating and I want to break the cycle, so I have declared May a no spending month. Bills will obviously be paid and I will buy the necessary cleaning and paper products for the house. For food, I will buy items to go along with what we already have in the house. Things I will not spend money on include- coffee out, meals out & ordering in, entertainment, new clothes or anything else I don’t actually need. Instead, I have been inviting friends over for coffee in my backyard, experimenting with new recipes to keep eating at home exciting as well keeping some healthy quick options in the freezer for when I don’t want to cook. For entertainment, we have been watching movies on Netflix, playing games and using the library. I did buy the new David Sedaris book for my kindle because it is our book club selection for the month & i need/want to read it. I debated this purchase but since another bill was less than expected, I just used the “extra” for it. Pinterest fashion searches have inspired me to rethink outfits from the extensive collection of clothes I already own.

Instead of just buying whatever I want, I am trying to think about what I can use in place of something or if I even really need it. It actually feels really good. I have been keeping a list of things I have thought about buying but decided I did not really need. The hope is that some of the habits stick around long after this month and that I can build on those.

image

 

Leave a Reply

