The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Gardening. July 2, 2013

Gardening is something I have always been kind of interested in. My immediate family members are not gardeners,(they aren’t even really vegetable eaters), so I didn’t have much opportunity to learn first hand growing up. Over the years, I have read many books on gardening, but I still didn’t really know what I was doing until I actually just got my hands in the dirt and learned through trial, error and the wisdom of other gardeners I spoke with. Last year was the first year that I successfully grew anything besides herbs and it was one of the best feelings in the world. I was hooked. It just feels so “right” to grow food, pick it, clean it, prepare it and feed it to the people you love. It is how food is supposed to work. With just two 12×4 foot raised beds at one of our community garden sites and some containers in the backyard, we grew enough vegetables to feed us all summer and did quite a bit of canning and freezing. We just recently used up the last of what was in the freezer.

Needless to say, I could not wait to get started this year. I ordered my seeds from Seed Savers without any real plan or layout in mind. I may have ordered a bit too much, but as long as I store them properly, I can save some for next year. Between the 2 raised beds at the garden and an expanded collection of containers, we have a pretty good selection of vegetables this year. Kale, rainbow chard, beets, carrots, a variety of lettuces, spinach, green beans, a variety of peppers both sweet and hot, several kinds of tomatoes, zucchini, summer squash, eggplant, basil, dill, mint, chives and even watermelon have all been planted. I am also hoping to get some peas since they don’t take too long to mature. I was hoping to get butternut squash, cantaloupe, cucumbers and potatoes planted but it just didn’t happen.

Despite uncooperative weather (lots of rain and gloom), things seem to be going okay. They are not all growing as quickly as they would under ideal conditions, but they are still healthy and slowly growing. Hopefully the sunshine comes and sticks around for awhile soon!

Here is one of the beds in bloom last year-

I will post updates and pictures as things start producing more.

Did you plant a garden? What did you plant?

 

Leave a Reply

