The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Sunday Reading. October 19, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 5:00 am

One of my favorite blogs, Joy the Baker  does a “Let It Be Sunday” post each week with lots of links to read while you enjoy your Sunday coffee. It is something I genuinely look forward to each Sunday morning, so I thought maybe I would start doing one of my own for all of you to enjoy. This is just a collection of things I have come across on the internet in the past week or so. Some interesting, some important, some just plain silly… balance is good! So grab a cup of coffee, snuggle up with your favorite blanket (and favorite pup) and enjoy.

 

DSC01573

 

~ My love of wine is no secret. This just made me laugh and I can relate to more than a few of them.

~I am not married, but found this article applicable to my long term relationship in many ways. I especially loved this quote “Don’t marry someone because of who they are, or who you want them to become. Marry them because of who they are determined to become. And then spend a lifetime joining them in their becoming, as they join you in yours.”

~We seem to finally be #bringingbackourgirls.

~ Speaking of Joy the Baker, I can’t wait for this to arrive.

~You know that I love to talk about healthy eating on a budget , this article is full of great advice.

~”Focus on health, not weight, at home”, good advice on How to Parent Healthy Body Image and Why it Matters.

~Great article about poverty, the cycles behind it, the ways we avoid talking about it and what we can do to help here.

~This may only be entertaining to my librarian friends, but the struggle is real.

~ We ate these Kale Pancakes at a Girl’s Weekend Getaway last month and I have thought about them most every day since. Must make soon!

~ There is no way we can talk about what is going on on the internet these days without talking about Ebola. There is lot of crazy and untrue information out there. I think this is an important and often overlooked factor in how we deal with the spread of infectious diseases.

~Hoping this is our next book club pick. I’ll be reading it regardless.

~This made me cry. It was far too close to my heart. It has been over a year since I lost my best friend and one true love Emma and it still hurts like hell. These things have always broken my heart~ in the good way that makes me grateful I ever got to love something so much that it hurt.

~ As a feminist, I have put quite a bit of thought into this issue (among so many others). I find this article pretty on point in identifying the inherent problem in male feminism with this line  “Maybe you didn’t, personally, do anything wrong, but you were still born into a power structure that gave you unjust rewards. The system — whether it’s the patriarchy or white supremacy or capitalism — does not offer special exemptions for individuals with good intentions.”

~ I just really like the idea of Freestyle Gardening.

 

What interesting things have you been reading?

 

Hope you enjoy your day!

 

Leave a Reply

