The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Sunday Reading. October 26, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 6:00 am

Happy Sunday Folks! Hope this day finds you healthy and happy. I will be spending it getting in some much needed quality time with my honey,making a pancake brunch, taking a long walk with the pup, reading, catching up on magazines, watching Food Network shows on Netflix and roasting a chicken. All of the things Sunday was meant for.

 

Did anyone else’s grandma have one of these when they were little? My brother in law recently came across this and let me have it. It reminds me of my grandma’s kitchen when I was little. I really just love it.

 

10711149_10204348214857047_8752955385533668335_n

 

 

So without further ado, some Sunday links to read while you enjoy your morning tea….

~I made this for dinner on Monday. It was the best pulled pork I have ever had. You should make it. Really.

~”Aging is not something we should be ashamed of — it’s something to celebrate. Because living is an honor. Because time is a gift.” Losing my Dad when he was only 41 gave me a deep appreciation for the important things in this life. I think this article makes a good point about how ridiculous our society is when it comes to the natural signs of aging… of life.

~As a lifetime lover of Sesame Street, I found this article really fun.

~I am a pretty happy person but it doesn’t always come easily. I have said being happy is a lot of work, but totally worth it many times over the years. This article has some great points about what it takes to really be happy, starting with “giving up your assumptions about what will make you happy ”

~I was a Brownie and a Girl Scout for many years, but haven’t given it much thought in awhile. I was glad to see that they are evolving to be more relevant to today’s world. The goal of the Girl Scouts is to create strong leaders and I think the skills needed for that have changed over the years. Apparently they are desperate for volunteers. If you have some spare time, you should see if you can help out in your area.

~October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month. Here are some horrifying statistics about to remind us it is still an epidemic.

~Hunger, Obesity and Nutrition are closely related issues with many different underlying reasons. It is not as simple as many people make it out to be. Lack of resources, knowledge and access play a huge role in these ongoing problems. Healthy, real food for everyone is obviously an important issue to me . Here are some more statistics to break your heart.

~On to some happier food news, add these restaurants to your bucket list asap!  The French Laundry has been on mine for awhile, but #2. #3. #6 and #8 were just added!

~As someone who identifies as bisexual, I find it really frustrating when people think it doesn’t actually exist. I really can’t even understand that thinking but it is far from the only misconception about bisexual individuals. I have heard almost all of these at one time or another.

~In the Halloween spirit (and because I recently binge watched 8 seasons of Criminal Minds), I found this article about the appeal of serial killers interesting.

~If you love popcorn like I love popcorn, this just might make your day.

~Say what you will about President Obama, he has accomplished some things that I am pretty excited about. This being one of them.

~I gave up counting calories quite some time ago. I would much rather focus on eating healthy real food than worry about calories but I still found this approach really interesting.

 

What have you been reading about this week?

 

 

4 Responses to “Sunday Reading.”

  1. Angie B. Says:

    My grandmother had something like that. I know it wasn’t a cow. It seems it was something else but I don’t remember. For some reason I was thinking September was domestic violence awareness month?

  2. Those were great links and I totally read them while drinking my morning decaf. 😉 I have the same appreciation for aging because my dad passed away too young so I really enjoyed that one. And the pulled pork recipe looked delicious…even early in the morning while drinking coffee! Ha ha! 🙂

  3. Jessica Says:

    I am glad you enjoyed them! Thanks for checking them out!

  4. Winter White Says:

    Thank you for the links! Your Sunday sounds absolutely divine!


Leave a Reply

