The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Quinoa Enchilada Casserole. October 29, 2014

When my partner recently expressed an interest in trying quinoa, Mexican seemed like the right direction because it is pretty much always a winner in our house. I have seen several versions of this idea floating around Pinterest and decided to go ahead and make my own. This is easy to put together and can even be made a few days ahead of time and then just topped with cheese and baked when you are ready to eat it. It is great for a quick and healthy weeknight meal.

 

DSC01697

 

Quinoa Enchilada Casserole

serves 6

2 cups cooked quinoa

1 1/4 c enchilada sauce (or one 10 ounce can)

1/2 c frozen corn kernels

1 cup black beans (drained and rinsed if from a can)

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp chili powder

salt and pepper to taste

8 oz cheddar cheese- divided

-diced avacado, diced tomato, sliced black olives and plain greek yogurt (or sour cream), and salsa for topping as desired

 

1. Preheat oven to 375ยบ

2. Combine cooked quinoa, enchilada sauce, corn, black beans, spices and half of the cheese in large bowl.

3. Spray 8×8 pan with olive oil and spread mixture in pan.

4. Top with remaining cheese and bake.

~ 20 minutes if putting in oven right away

~ 30-35 minutes if it has been made previously and chilled

5. Allow to cool about 10 minutes.

6. Once on serving plates/bowls, top with diced avacado, tomato, black olives, salsa and plain greek yogurt as desired.

7. Enjoy!

DSC01696

 

 

14 Responses to “Quinoa Enchilada Casserole.”

  1. Rosemary Says:

    That looks really yummy! Thanks for sharing.

  2. I love Mexican food, and I’m curious to try quinoa. This recipe looks like a good place to start! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Stephanie Keeping Says:

    Oh this sounds so yummy!

  4. Kungphoo Says:

    Mexican food is one of my favorites.. this looks extremely good!!

  5. Thanks for sharing! Looks great.

  6. Heather Says:

    This looks and sounds delicious! I pinned it to try later! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

  7. I love enchiladas! A quinoa version is perfect!

  8. Jessica Says:

    Thanks Everyone! Please let me know what you think if you try it. I love constructive criticism of my recipes ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I keep trying to work quinoa into our meals. this looks like another great way to try it!

  10. momentousmom Says:

    I have made this before and ADORE this recipe!! It is fantastic. I put pepper jack cheese on mine for some extra added kick!

  11. Angie B. Says:

    oh my that looks good. I only recently (within the last 3 years) discovered the wonderful world of quinoa. I make a salad with it that everyone loves

  12. Tami Says:

    Yum, yum, yum! I’m going to give this recipe a try!


Leave a Reply

