The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Crock Pot Banana Bread Breakfast Quinoa. November 5, 2014

Filed under: Breakfast,Crock Pot — Jessica @ 6:00 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I feel calling this a crock pot recipe is kind of misleading. It is made in a crock pot, but it is not one of those dump it in and leave it all night so you wake up to a nice hot breakfast kind of situations. It is more of a make it on Sunday afternoon so you have it to eat for breakfast during the week situation. Unless of course, you are one of those moms who gets up way before the children and has a nice hot breakfast waiting for them. That is definitely not the situation around here.

Whatever the situation, make this soon! It is so good and it really does taste like banana bread. Protein packed quinoa, mashed bananas, walnuts, butter and spices cook up for a comforting and healthy breakfast. This will keep in the refrigerator all week and reheats really well.

 

DSC01744

Crock Pot Banana Bread Breakfast Quinoa

serves 4

 

Ingredients

1 cup quinoa

1 cup milk

1 cup water

2 bananas (very ripe, mashed)

4 Tbls chopped walnuts

3 Tbls brown sugar

2 Tbls butter- melted

1 tsp vanilla

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

favorite nut butter, additional banana and walnuts to top (if desired)

 

DSC01736

 

1.Place everything in the crockpot, stir to combine

2. Cook on low heat setting 3-4 hrs

3. Top as desired if serving immediately. If eating later, store covered and reheat as desired. I reheated it in the microwave for 2 minutes, stirring half way through and I did not need to add any liquid.

4. Enjoy!

 

DSC01746

 

 

10 Responses to “Crock Pot Banana Bread Breakfast Quinoa.”

  1. Natashalh Says:

    So funny! I hadn’t thought of breakfast quinoa at all until about two weeks ago, I made a bunch and reheated it for several days last week, and then I see your post today! It’s a great example of how you learn about something and then see it everywhere. I didn’t put bananas on mine, though. I need to do that next time! Visiting through the Blogging Collective. =)

  2. Heather Says:

    YUM! For some reason I never thought of eating quinoa for breakfast! (I just recently started eating it in the first place so maybe that’s why!) But this sounds great!

  3. Angie B. Says:

    yummy. I introduced myself to the world of quinoa about 2 years ago or so. I love it. Gonna have to try this recipe

  4. Dot Says:

    I’m not a banana fan, but boy that looks good. Maybe I’m just super hungry right now! Visiting from a facebook group.

  5. Tami @ ThisMomsDelight Says:

    I’ve never tried quinoa. I think I will try your recipe.

  6. What a great idea. My kids live off cherrios and bananas for breakfast, I think they would love this!

  7. Ronda Says:

    Your’s looks nothing like mine. I need you to make it for me 🙂

  8. Looks so yummy. Definitely a cheat day kind of breakfast. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

