The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Meal Plan Monday and Grocery Haul. November 10, 2014

Filed under: Meal Plan — Jessica @ 6:00 am
Tags: , , ,

I was in a lot of stores this past week. Retail therapy is one of my favorite ways to handle stress. Luckily, I kept my spending under control and mostly did some Christmas browsing and some (already budgeted) grocery shopping. We were still pretty stocked up on produce from last week, so I just picked up some bananas in that department. I got to Wegmans and stocked up on meat for our freezer and some other pantry essentials and picked up a few random things while browsing at Big Lots because they were good deals.

*I am very happy with the positive feedback on my last meal plan post and I am excited to make this a weekly thing.*

We stuck with the meal plan last week until we got to Thursday. Instead of salmon patties, my partner picked up tacos on the way home from a meeting. I was starting to get sick and not in the mood to cook. They will likely make it back on the menu plan soon. We did get back on track after that.

 

The plan for this week~

Monday- Gluten-free sweet & sour chicken, veggie fried rice

Tuesday- Broccoli cheese soup, gf cheddar garlic biscuits

Wednesday- Venison stew in the crock pot

Thursday- Leftovers

Friday- Honey pecan pork chops, baked sweet potato, roasted brussel sprouts

Saturday- Leftovers

Sunday- Crock pot chilli & corn muffins

 

On to the groceries-

DSC01834

 Pantry/odds & ends~ (please excuse my partners pizza box in the background)

~ Bananas

~ Olive oil mayo

~ Espresso roast coffee beans

~ Balsamic vinegar

~ Bota Box of Redvolution

~ Gluten free lasagna noodles

~ Almond butter

~ Rotel tomatoes with chillis (2)

~ Enchilada sauce (2)

~ Green chillis (2)

~ Gluten free ginger snaps (these are so good! I keep buying them for a recipe and eating them before I get to it)

~ Random pack of chicken thighs that did not make it into the meat picture

~ Dark chocolate peppermint bar

 

DSC01830

 

Meat/Freezer~

~ Artichoke hearts

~ Chicken breasts

~ Pork roast (we cut this in half and generally get 2 meals plus leftovers from each half)

~ Chicken drumsticks

~ Ground Beef

 

DSC01828

 

Big Lots Randomness~

~ Luna Fiber Bars (very good)

~ Gluten Free Pizza Crust (these were only $1/each- for any of you gf buyers, you know what a great deal that is)

~ Evaporated Milk

~ Coconut Milk

 

Not Pictured~

~ Milk

~ Tazo Zen tea

 

That’s about it for groceries this week. I have a couple of really good recipes scheduled to post this week and a couple of other fun (not food related) things in the works. Hope you have a great week!

 

What is on your menu this week?

 

4 Responses to “Meal Plan Monday and Grocery Haul.”

  1. Grocery shopping is such a stress reliever for me if 1) I’ve got a list and budget set when I go in & 2) I’m shopping alone – I get distracted/can’t keep track of the cost if someone’s there with me. I have a list of things that I will definitely be buying (with estimated costs listed) and then a list of things I can get if I can afford them after I’m done with the first list. Which means I go through the store twice, but I don’t mind as this is the only way I feel comfortable shopping. This week I plan on making a chicken/broccoli/rice/cheese casserole, chicken salad sandwiches, chicken with spanish rice, western omelets, and pimiento cheese for a snack. As you can tell, I like chicken and cheese! But to my defense, I do eat a lot of salads as I buy kale, spinach, carrots, parsley, cilantro, etc. for my rabbit and we share 🙂

    • Jessica Says:

      I used to eat a lot more chicken when it was just me, but try to mix it up now… & who doesn’t love cheese? Thanks for checking out my page and sharing Jen!

  2. Ashleigh Says:

    I’ve been thinking about making a meal plan post on my blog…you have inspired me to go through with it!


Leave a Reply

