The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Crock Pot Eggplant & Sausage Sauce. November 11, 2014

Filed under: Crock Pot,Dinner — Jessica @ 6:00 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

We really love eggplant, but I do not have a lot of eggplant recipes in my repertoire. I recently came across a recipe for a crock pot eggplant sauce that I didn’t really have all of the ingredients for, so I improvised and came up with this. I do not know what the original recipe tastes like, but this one is damn good. We have had it for dinner twice in one month, which is pretty much unheard of around here. It is packed with veggies and requires little hands on time. The best part about this recipe is that it is an all day crock pot recipe! I see so many recipes that call for 4-6 hrs in the crock pot (I have some of them myself) but that usually doesn’t work for me. I like to use the crock pot for when I will be working all day and I just want to come home to a nice hot meal. This recipe cooks for 8 hrs but can easily be cooked for 10 if you need it to.

DSC01757

Crock Pot Eggplant & Sausage Sauce

Ingredients

3 Italian style sausage links- removed from casing

1 medium eggplant- peeled and diced into 1 inch chunks

2 14.5 oz cans diced tomatoes

8 oz fresh mushrooms- sliced

1 6oz can tomato paste

1 medium red onion- diced

1 medium green pepper- diced

1/2 c dry red wine (or beef broth)

6 cloves garlic- minced

1 heaping tsp each of dried basil and oregano*

1/2 tsp dried thyme*

* fresh herbs are great if you have them on hand

6 c cooked pasta of choice

1 c fresh Parmesan cheese

1. Remove sausage links from casing and cook sausage in medium pan until done, breaking up links as they cook.

2. Add peeled eggplant, canned tomatoes, mushrooms, tomato paste, onion, pepper, garlic and spices to large crock pot (6 qt). Stir to combine.

*It is going to look like this and you are going to think that there is no way this is going to turn into any kind of sauce, but you will just have to trust me on this. Eight to ten hours in the crock pot does some magic.

DSC01741

3. Cook 8-10 hrs on low heat. If you are home you can stir it occasionally but it is fine on its own too.

4. Serve over pasta and sprinkled with fresh Parmesan.

5. Enjoy! (with a glass of dry red wine if you’re into that kind of thing)

DSC01760

 

16 Responses to “Crock Pot Eggplant & Sausage Sauce.”

  1. thank you for posting an awesome all day recipe! we just started using our crock pot a lot but the 4-6 hour recipes aren’t helpful–this looks DELICIOUS!

  2. Great recipe. I am going to pin it to my board. Thank you.

  3. Heather Says:

    This sounds so good! I wish my hubby didn’t hate eggplant! I wonder if he would know it was in there with all of those other ingredients mixed in! πŸ˜‰

  4. I’ve never had eggplant before but this looks yummy.

  5. Angie B. Says:

    If I’m going to be honest I’ve never cooked with eggplant in my life. Not that I’m opposed to it, just don’t know what to do with it. This gives me an idea to try. Thanks!

    • Jessica Says:

      I pretty much only made Eggplant Parmesan or threw it on the grill with other veggies during the summer before creating this. I would definitely like to expand my eggplant skills. This is definitely a good one to start with.

  6. We have fallen off of using our crockpot but need to get back to it. Makes things easier. Thanks for the ideas.

  7. I have never eaten or cooked with eggplant. I would probably love it but the rest of the my bunch not so much. These recipes look delicious though.

  8. Christine Says:

    Eggplant…hmmm…seems interesting enough but I haven’t ever ate it before. Might be a secret ingredient that I don’t tell the hubby about πŸ™‚

  9. Ronda Says:

    I just got a crock pot, cant wait to try it!

  10. Joely Smith Says:

    I could totally use a new crock pot! I think I have had mine since the dark ages lol

  11. Reviews 411 Says:

    OMG this looks and sounds delicious!


Leave a Reply

