The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Weekly Menu Plan & Grocery Haul November 17, 2014

Filed under: Meal Plan — Jessica @ 6:00 am
Tags: , , ,

I have been a bit of a grocery shopping maniac this month. I am not really sure why, but I have gone significantly over budget and there is no more room for food in our cupboards, refrigerator, two freezers, snack baskets or the baker’s rack counter I use for produce. I did stock up on quite a bit of stuff, so next month I can cut back a little and it will all even out (hopefully). I also bought some things for holiday meals and the Pancake Party I had yesterday (more on that Saturday), so those don’t count against the usual grocery  budget. I am still at about $375 for the month and it is only the 17th! My grocery hauls really will be minimal the next two weeks to say the least.

 

Menu Plan~

Monday ~Baked Coconut Chicken Fingers, Salads

Tuesday ~ Fish Fry, potato salad, carrots & celery (my partner is cooking)

Wednesday ~ Turkey & Black Bean Tacos

Thursday~ Leftovers

Friday ~ Leftovers

Saturday ~ Salmon Patties, sweet potato fries, roasted broccoli

Sunday~ Spinach, Mushroom and Artichoke Lasagna

 

Last week’s menu plan got a little jumbled up- I flip flopped Monday and Tuesday because I wasn’t feeling well Monday and soup was easier than the Sweet & Sour Chicken and Veggie Fried Rice. Thursday we ordered pizza instead of eating leftovers.  Saturday we ordered in again and Sunday ended up being meat loaf, baked potatoes and brussel sprouts. Pretty much only Wednesday and Friday were as planned. It happens. Hoping to stay on track a little better this week.

 

On to the groceries~

This first picture is of things I bought specifically for the Pancake Party I had yesterday.

DSC01839

 

Party Groceries~

~ Bacon

~ Bananas

~ OJ (2)

~ Fresh Pineapple

~ Breakfast Sausage (2)

~ Champagne (2) (for mimosas)

~ Gluten free pancake mix for me (Everyone else got my delicious from scratch buttermilk pancakes)

~ Eggs (only 1 of these is for the party, they other is for the house)

 

DSC01847

 

Produce~

~ Mushrooms (2) (I usually buy Cremini but these were on sale for $.69 this week)

~ Butternut squash

~ Sweet potatoes

~ Shallots

~ Garlic

~ Green peppers

~ Honey Crisp apples

~ Red potatoes

~ Romaine

 

DSC01842

 

Meat/Dairy~

~ Bacon

~ Turkey Italian sausage

~ Ground turkey

~ Boneless center cut pork chops

~ Milk

~ Cottage cheese

~ Ricotta cheese

~ Breakfast sausage

~ Butter

~ Cheese sticks

~ Sliced swiss cheese

~ OJ (the only other cold item that didn’t fit elsewhere)

 

DSC01845

 

Bread Products~

~ Tortillas (for my partner)

~ Italian sandwich bread (for my partner)

~ Pie crust

~ Gluten free whole grain bread

 

DSC01838

 

Pantry Items~

~ French style green beans (6), Cream of Mushroom soup (4), French Fried Onions- (we were both asked to bring green bean casserole to our family gatherings. I don’t even eat the stuff)

~ Natural peanut butter

~ Miracle Whip

~ Orange ginger stir fry/ dipping sauce

~ Capers

~ BBQ sauce

~ Chicken Stock (4)

~ Beef Broth (2)

~ Taco shells

~ Brown rice

~ Canned mushrooms (2)

~ Brown sugar

~ Gluten Free pasta

~ Spaghetti

 

There you have it. Despite being so sick last week, I am feeling really on top of stuff this week and I am excited about getting back to my normal routine.

 

What is on your menu this week?

 

5 Responses to “Weekly Menu Plan & Grocery Haul”

  1. my tongue watered when i saw tacos 😀

  2. Thank you for reminding me, I really need to plan our meals, things have been just crazy with my husbands new job. Really getting tired of take out, plus it hurts my budget.

    • Jessica Says:

      We fall into the trap of order in/take out if there is not a solid plan in place. It gets so expensive. I really committed to meal planning once I started keeping track of all the money we spent on food from outside the house- over $400 two months in a row- for just 2 people! It gets really crazy!

  3. The coconut chicken fingers look amazing. As a college student, I always find it hard to take the time to cook. But thank you for the inspiration! 🙂

    Xo,
    Taylor
    acupoftay.com

    • Jessica Says:

      Thanks for checking them out! I hadn’t made them in awhile and they were just as delicious as I remember. Thai sweet chilli sauce is the best for dipping (if you try them)!


Leave a Reply

