The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Gluten Free Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes w/ Maple Cream Cheese Frosting & Toasted Pecans. November 19, 2014

That’s quite the title, but all of the ingredients  play an equal roll in the deliciousness of these and I didn’t want to leave anything out. I have not really done much gluten free baking from scratch and these are no different. I will get there eventually, but for now I am relying on box mixes and I am okay with that. These are really simple to make and really good. The cake itself is not very sweet, but the frosting makes up for it and the toasted pecans are really just the perfect finish. These would be great to take to Thanksgiving dinner or a nice fall treat for work.

 

DSC01865

 

 

Gluten Free Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes w/Maple Cream Cheese Frosting & Toasted Pecans

Makes 18 cupcakes

Ingredients~

1 bag/box gluten free vanilla cake mix

1 can pumpkin puree

1 egg

2 Tbls pumpkin pie spice (or a combination of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves)

8 oz cream cheese (softened)

6 cups powdered sugar

1/2 cup pure maple syrup

1 cup chopped pecans- toasted

 

DSC01853

1. Preheat oven to 350º. Line 18 cupcake spots with paper liners.

2. Combine cake mix, pumpkin, egg and pumpkin pie spice and stir until smooth.

3. Divide evenly amongst liners and bake 18-22 minutes.

4. Remove and let cool completely.

5. For frosting, combine softened cream cheese, 3 cups of powdered sugar and maple syrup in stand mixer (or large mixing bowl). Start on low so the powder sugar doesn’t fly everywhere (I always forget). Gradually add remaining sugar until combined. Increase speed incrementally and let it go for about a minute once it gets all the way up. Frost cooled cupcakes. (There will be extra frosting)

6. Toast chopped pecans as desired. I use a dry skillet over medium heat for a few minutes and jostle them around every 30 seconds or so. Some people prefer the oven. I have even heard of doing them in the microwave. Once pecans have toasted and cooled, top frosted cupcakes with them.

7. Enjoy!

DSC01876DSC01873

 

16 Responses to “Gluten Free Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes w/ Maple Cream Cheese Frosting & Toasted Pecans.”

  1. These look great! Tweeting!

  2. These look delicious. I’m wanting to make something with pumpkin for Thanksgiving, something new besides pumpkin bread or pie. These might just do the trick. 🙂

  3. Those cupcakes look amazing! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Gladly passing this along!

  4. MMM these look fantastic! I’m such a fan of pumpkin and maple…especially together. I’m pinning this. 🙂
    Xo,
    Taylor
    acupoftay.com

  5. Alex Says:

    These look so delicious. Pinned!

    Alex – Funky Jungle

  6. This is awesome. My brother has celiac disease so I will definitely share this with him!

  7. Heather Says:

    These sound amazing! Sharing with my gluten free friends and I might just have to try them myself! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  8. Angie B. Says:

    I keep hoping to find a thanksgiving dessert recipe for me. My doctor put me on a low FODMAP diet ..yea just before thanksgiving. it includes a number of things like gluten free, lactose free, frucose free….a lot of stuff. These sounds amazing but I can’t have the cream cheese

    • Jessica Says:

      I used to be vegan and I used the tofutti cream cheese a lot. Not sure how that would work for you, but you could look into it 🙂

  9. Reblogged this on freebieconfessions's Blog and commented:
    Yummy!!

  10. Deepta S Says:

    Delectable! I could probably eat the entire batch! Thanks for sharing:)

  11. Amber B Says:

    These look delicious i will have to try this recipe during my time off. Now my stomach is growling, if i had a batch this would be my breakfast.


Leave a Reply

