The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Olive & Feta Stuffed Chicken Breast w/ Walnut Panko Crust November 25, 2014

During the warmer months, I eat salad for lunch pretty much everyday. I always start with a bed of spring mix and get creative with the toppings. One of my very favorite combinations of toppings is olives, feta and walnuts with a slightly sweet homemade vinegarette. Unfortunately, as soon as the temperature drops, salad starts making me gaggy and I just can’t eat it.  I had to figure out a way to combine those flavors into winter friendly food. This is what I came up with.  Lean boneless skinless chicken breast stuffed with chopped olives and crumbled feta and coated with a mixture of finely chopped walnuts and panko breadcrumbs.  A drizzle of honey right before serving balances out the saltiness of the filling perfectly. I will definitely be making this again.
DSC01891

 

 

Olive & Feta Stuffed Chicken Breast w/ Walnut Panko Crust

Serves 4

4 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast (trimmed)

3/4 c Walnuts- finely chopped

1/2 c Panko bread crumbs (gluten free for me)

3/4 c Olives- roughly chopped

3/4 c Feta cheese- crumbled

2 Eggs- beaten

Olive oil- for drizzling

Freshly ground black pepper- to taste

Honey- for drizzling

 

1. Preheat oven to 375º

DSC01882

2. Set everything you need up. This is going to take some dishes. Mix the feta and olives together in a small bowl. Beat the eggs in a shallow dish. Combine the finely chopped walnuts, panko and freshly ground black pepper in another shallow dish. Once everything is set up, cut a “pocket” in the chicken. Be careful not to cut all the way through. It should look like this.

DSC01883

3. Stuff 1/4 of the mixture into the “pocket”. Roll chicken breast in egg and then in walnut mix. Use toothpicks to keep it closed if necessary. Repeat with remaining 3 chicken breasts.

4. Place stuffed chicken breast in 9×13 pan. Drizzle with olive oil. Like this-

DSC01888

5. Bake for 45 minutes or until chicken is done.

6. Remove from oven, let cool for a few minutes. Drizzle with honey when served if desired.

7. Enjoy!

DSC01892

 

16 Responses to “Olive & Feta Stuffed Chicken Breast w/ Walnut Panko Crust”

  1. Farrah Says:

    I love stuffed chicken breast! 😀 I haven’t made that in ages though. 😡 I need to get in on that! Thank you for the inspiration!

  2. Ellese Says:

    That looks delicious! I will be sure to try out this recipe soon. I am the same as you, salads during summer and cooked veggies with chicken during winter.

  3. Joely Smith Says:

    Oh MY! I do love Olive and Feta! Love the saltiness with the creaminess! I can’t wait to try this – THANK YOU for sharing!

  4. well…since NYC’s ’bout to get some heavy-duty rain and snow…this may just do the trick 😀

  5. Ronda Says:

    I never had chicken stuffed with anything. Do you think this will taste good is I used shrimp?

  6. Tami @ ThisMomsDelight Says:

    This looks great and pretty simple to make.

  7. Christine Says:

    My husband and daughter LOOOOVE olives so they would eat this right up. I, on the other hand, gag when they eat them so maybe I could freeze it and have it ready when I work late and they could eat it without me!!

  8. valerie Says:

    I’ve made something similar, with cheese and spinach. This looks like a wonderful combination I might try soon. Thanks!

  9. rkgummer Says:

    This looks unreal!! I need to try making this. Anything with olives is a win in my book!

    http://www.skinnybelle.com/

  10. Done this and it’s super delicious !!!

  11. Angie B. Says:

    This sounds so good. I pinned it in my recipes board

  12. Looks delicious, I think I need to try this.


Leave a Reply

