The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

January CookBooks. January 28, 2015

Filed under: Cookbooks,random,Review — Jessica @ 6:00 am
Tags: ,

I have a bit of a cookbook problem. “A bit” is an understatement. I have well over 100 cookbooks and the collection keeps growing. I do weed them out from time to time, but it is still out of control. I read cookbooks like novels… I bring a pile into bed to look at while I drink my coffee on a lazy Sunday morning. I find so much inspiration in cookbooks~ in both the recipe sense and in the best of cookbooks, the life sense. I love the stories people tell about the recipes, the beautiful photographs, the kitchens etc.

Needless to say, going through all of them for my monthly menu planning session would be too much. In order to make sure I use as many of them as possible, I choose 3 or 4 each month and pick out some recipes for our meal plan. I never use the same book two months in a row. I leave a lot of room in the meal plan for improvisation, my own recipes and recipes from online sources and magazines, but I like to choose a few from each cookbook I pick out that month. Sometimes I will make the same favorites over and over again, but I try to choose at least one new recipe from each one. I thought I would start sharing the cookbooks I use each month. I love hearing about others favorite cookbooks and the reasons why they like them. I just decided to start sharing, so this post is coming a little late in the month but I will be putting these up the first week of each month in the future.

I was lucky enough to get two cookbooks from my two of my favorite bloggers this Christmas so I just had to use them immediately.

1.Seriously Delish: 150 Recipes for People Who Totally Love Food

DSC02069

I have loved her blog for years and I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE her cookbook! There is a nice variety of snacks, meals and beverages. Her recipes range from easy and healthy to a little more involved and indulgent. Everything I have tried has been phenomenal. Our favorites so far have been the Lemon Almond Tilapia with Coconut Rice, the Turkey and White Bean Enchiladas and the Crispy Salt & Pepper Brussels Sprouts. There are so many more things I want to try in here.

2. Homemade Decadence

DSC02074Joy is just the best blogger. I love everything about her. I bought her first cookbook and could not wait for this one to come out. (She is working on a Brunch cookbook now and I could not be more excited). There are a lot of baked good recipes in here since she is Joy The Baker, but I still managed to fit a few things into the meal plan (and a treat or two). My favorite recipe so far has been the Dirty Chai Lattes and I am pretty much just obsessed with drinking them everyday. The Roasted Potato Breakfast Nachos are pretty much heaven and the Dark Chocolate, Pistachio and Smoked Sea Salt Cookies I made for Christmas were a HUGE hit!

3. Now Eat This!DSC02073This is a cookbook I randomly came across in the Library Book Sale (I work at the library, so you will see this statement often). I had never heard of these cookbooks, but apparently there is a series. I thought a healthier twist on classic American comfort food was worth checking out and I have not been disappointed yet. I have made Mac and Cheese, Chicken Piccata, Portabella and Ground Beef Meatloaf, and Chicken with Mango Salsa. All have been delicious and fit my partners need for some classic comfort food while staying pretty healthy.

So, those were my choices for January. Please let me know what your favorite cookbook is in the comments!

 

 

Leave a Reply

