The Sweetest Thing.

" I feel there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people" ~Van Gogh

Blackberry BBQ Pork Chops. April 21, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 8:17 am

My planned post for today was last night’s Loaded Nachos but after a 12 hr work day, I was happy to come home to having them already prepared for me. I put my hair up, put on some sweatpants and joined my honey on the couch for dinner in front of the TV. After eating, brushing my teeth and a quick kitchen clean up, I fell asleep by 8:30. I have really just made peace with needing sleep to keep up with the rest of my life. I used to feel like I was somehow “missing out” if I went to bed early but the only thing I am missing out on is another episode of my current Netflix obsession. I am no longer someone who gets a lot done at night because I woke up at 5:30am and I am too tired to get much of anything done after 9pm. I don’t always go to bed as early as I did last night, but I have been trying to make it to bed between 10-10:30 each night.

So, Loaded Nachos will have to be another day. This is a recipe I have had saved for a while. I made them in the oven and they were really delicious but I think they would be spectacular on the grill. It involves just a few simple ingredients and it is a great last minute option when you want something a little more special than just plain bottled BBQ sauce. The combination of blackberry preserves, BBQ sauce and garlic salt plays well together. The blackberry BBQ sauce would also be good on grilled chicken.

DSC02275

Blackberry BBQ Pork Chops

serves 4

Ingredients~

4 Pork Chops (I used boneless center cut, but any would work)

1/2 c Blackberry Jam

1/2 c BBQ Sauce (We are big fans of Sweet Baby Rays)

1 tsp Garlic Salt (preferably the grinder kind with the bits of dried garlic and salt crystals)

Fresh Ground Black Pepper (To Taste)

DSC02272

1. Microwave Jam for 20 seconds, Add BBQ sauce and mix well.

2. Sprinkle garlic salt evenly among chops, pepper each chop.

3. Liberally spread jam on one side of pork chop and place that side down (on grill) or in oven safe dish. Repeat with remaining 3 chops.

4. Spread remaining mixture of top of each.

5. Bake at 350° for 20-25 mins. (or grill until done)

6. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

